Good deal for this setup? - 502StreetScene
Forum Garage




Remember Me?
Go Back   502StreetScene > 502 Community & Interest > Area 51 > Tech & Gaming

Thanks Thanks:  0
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2005, 11:44 AM   #1
NismoVQ35
Missing In Action
 
Join Date: 2003.05.17
Posts: 6,561
NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35 NismoVQ35
Good deal for this setup?
I'm tired of upgrading my current system (5+ years old), to make it try and keep up with everything. It's getting old and worn out, and I could probably part it out and put the original stuff back in it and sell the upgrades I've purchased for a decent amount of change.

So I thought about building a new one, but after I purchased everything needed and then built the exact same setup on Dell's site, the Dell was actually cheaper. So here's the setup I built on Dell, tell me what you think, and then if it's a fair price, etc.


Dimension 9100 Series

19 inch Ultrasharp™ 1905FP Digital Flat Panel
Pentium D 820 Processor (2.80 ghz)
2GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 533MHz - 4DIMMs
160GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
Dual Drives: 16x DVD+/-RW Drive + 16x DVD-ROM Drive
256MB nVidia GeForce 6800 PCI Express x16 (DVI/VGA/TV-out)
Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit ADVANCED HD Audio
Dell A215 Speakers
Dell USB Keyboard
Dell Optical USB Mouse
1Yr Ltd Warranty, 1Yr At-Home Service, and 1Yr Technical Support
Microsoft Windows XP Pro Edition

$1400

This is one pretty badass system. It's a damn nice video card, a nice chunk of memory, etc. and the price includes a 19" digital flat panel. I dunno, is it a good price? I tried putting it together piece by piece on my own the exact setup and I kept coming higher. Even tried other places such as HP's cutom thing and I stopped when I hit 1700 for 1/2 the computer this thing is.

I dunno, Dell just seems to have a good price on this setup. Yea they have a lot cheaper setups too, but this is what I've built and what I want, I'm just asking if the price is good for all that you see there.
NismoVQ35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-24-2005, 02:09 PM   #2
03SSVT
Registered User
 
03SSVT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2004.08.06
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 1,114
03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT 03SSVT
Send a message via AIM to 03SSVT
looks good to me...
but you could maybe build that same rig for alittle less.
__________________
2003 DSG SVT Lightning
JLP Ramair Intake, SCT Bigair MAF, C&L True flow power pipe, Bassani SS exhaust, 6LB Lower Pulley, SpeedyDyno Tune. 2" rear lowering shackles.
Coming soon - Solid rear window

Build # 2213 of 4270
Born on 03/05/2003 Adopted 08/04/2006
03SSVT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 02:44 PM   #3
jthompson02
 
Join Date: 2003.06.20
Posts: 2,175
jthompson02
www.pricewatch.com
www.newegg.com

figuire it out
jthompson02 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-24-2005, 09:33 PM   #4
SamARR
/ˈsäˌmär/
 
SamARR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2003.04.15
Location: in a tent
Posts: 5,128
SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR SamARR
considering it comes will a 19 inch flat pannel monitor, yeah i'd say its a good deal
SamARR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2005, 10:53 PM   #5
therobmancometh
 
Join Date: 2004.12.01
Posts: 695
therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh therobmancometh
I wouldn't buy a computer today without a 64 bit cpu.
therobmancometh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 10:47 AM   #6
dozerawd
 
Join Date: 2004.07.24
Posts: 300
dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd dozerawd
Th hype on 64bit CPU's is overrated. Yes, you can get a 64bit CPU. Do you have Windows XP 64bit edition?! Probably not. Since you do not have this OS, there is no need for it. There are very, and I mean limited to 2 hands, pieces of software that actually use the 64bit architecture.

Now, if you are comparing a P4 to an Athlon64, then go with the Athlon at all costs. Yes the Athlon64 is 64bit architecture, but the performance increase you are getting is not from the 64bit architecture, its from the on die memory controller. The memory controller actually runs at the speed to CPU which has a MAJOR increase in bandwidth over P4's. That is why Athlon cpu's walk over P4 on gaming. Check around at Falconnorthwest or Voodoo and see which CPU's they use. Check in magazines, you will notice a trend. The real use of the 64bit architecture wont really hit till the end of 2006 for Windows Vista, and most software till 2007.

Good luck, build your own. Get an Athlon 64 3000+ (939pin) and overclock it. Keep the 2gig of memory, change the video card to a basic 7800GTX. Its maybe 100.00 more than the 6800 you have listed, but trust me in saying that you will not be dissappointed. Grab a single Western Digital 74g Raptor, and maybe a 300g drive for extra space. Find an oem of Sound blaster live audigy 2, find a case and you my friend have yourself a system capable of putting that Dell to shame.

GL.
dozerawd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:29 PM   #7
NismoZ
The Z Doctor
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: 2003.09.29
Location: Somewhere on the Net
Posts: 672
NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ NismoZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by dozerawd
Th hype on 64bit CPU's is overrated. Yes, you can get a 64bit CPU. Do you have Windows XP 64bit edition?! Probably not. Since you do not have this OS, there is no need for it. There are very, and I mean limited to 2 hands, pieces of software that actually use the 64bit architecture.

Now, if you are comparing a P4 to an Athlon64, then go with the Athlon at all costs. Yes the Athlon64 is 64bit architecture, but the performance increase you are getting is not from the 64bit architecture, its from the on die memory controller. The memory controller actually runs at the speed to CPU which has a MAJOR increase in bandwidth over P4's. That is why Athlon cpu's walk over P4 on gaming. Check around at Falconnorthwest or Voodoo and see which CPU's they use. Check in magazines, you will notice a trend. The real use of the 64bit architecture wont really hit till the end of 2006 for Windows Vista, and most software till 2007.

Good luck, build your own. Get an Athlon 64 3000+ (939pin) and overclock it. Keep the 2gig of memory, change the video card to a basic 7800GTX. Its maybe 100.00 more than the 6800 you have listed, but trust me in saying that you will not be dissappointed. Grab a single Western Digital 74g Raptor, and maybe a 300g drive for extra space. Find an oem of Sound blaster live audigy 2, find a case and you my friend have yourself a system capable of putting that Dell to shame.

GL.

What he said.. It's right on the money.
NismoZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.